Indian Chicken

This is one of my favorite recipes. It takes a while to make, but it’s fairly easy. The hardest part is waiting for it to cook while the smell of curry is everywhere. The original recipe came from a cookbook called More with Less, but my mom and I have tweaked it a bit through trial and error. The version here is good feeding lots of people.

I’ve made this chicken for a church potluck, and I got several people asking me for the recipe, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to publish it. Now I just need to come up with my own special curry blend to make sure I keep my advantage.

The Recipe:

Cut 3 1/2 lbs of chicken into pieces and flour.

In a large satué pan, heat over medium high heat
3T butter
3T vegetable oil

Brown the chicken for about 6 minutes. Once the chicken is browned, take it out on the skillet and put it in a baking dish. If you couldn’t fit all the chicken in the pan, add more oil and brown the rest.

Sauce

Once you finish with the chicken, put a chopped large onion into the pan and sauté until golden.

Then add 6T flour to the onions and oil in the pan. Also add
4T curry powder
2t ground ginger
4t salt

Mix that up to make almost a curry/ginger roux.

Then add
2/3c honey
1/2c soy sauce
6c chicken broth

Let that simmer until it thickens. Pour the sauce over the chicken. Cover and bake at 350° for about an hour.

Serve with rice.

Variation:
Use a cut up 3lb fryer (legs, thighs, breasts) and halve the sauce
.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

