Coffee!

There is snow everywhere on this campus. Not even kidding. (People are calling it the #snowpocalypse, or, locally, #TheSituation2010) I’m not usually a heavy coffee drinker, but weather like this is really making me want some good coffee. I tried to settle my craving with a cup of coffee in the cafeteria (the only building on campus that’s even open right now), but my stars, it was terrible. Nothing I could do to it would fix the fact that it was awful, watered down, stale coffee.

Now, what do I consider good coffee? As far as a specific bean or roast, I don’t really have one. I do, however, have a drink that I love when it’s cold outside:

In a 6 oz cup:

2 oz Espresso
2 oz Medium cream, steamed
1 oz Chocolate syrup
Top with foamed whole milk

Top it with a good dusting of Chinese five-spice and a light drizzle of chocolate syrup.

It ends up being a rich, strong, thick mocha-ish thing, and its thickness is contrasted nicely by the foamy milk on top. It’s kinda hard to make at home, but it can be done (I’m learning how, actually). The foam keeps it warm longer, and the thickness warms you up inside. The Chinese five-spice gives it an almost-like-pumpkin-pie flavor, without actually tasting like pumpkin pie.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

