Where’s the Lindy At?

Over the last coupe weeks, I’ve been getting a little frustrated with the swing dancing scene here in my area (Huntsville, Nashville, everything in between). I don’t know if it’s just that I don’t know where to look, but it seems like you have to work to find great places to dance. I mean, there are plenty of venues and dances, but no one compiles a good resource for dancers here. The Huntsville Swing Dance Society does a stellar job of compiling a calendar, but they’re based down in Huntsville. HSDS includes some Nashville events, but they focus (and rightly so) on Huntsville. I have yet to find a resource as complete as the HSDS list, but focused on Murfreesboro. We’re only an hour and a half from Huntsville, and it’s 45 Minutes to Nashville  from here. I’m a member of a local swing dance club, but they seem to be be lacking a little. They sent out the newsletter today, telling us that there is a meeting tonight. The information hasn’t been timely, complete, or well organized lately.

After all today, I think I want to start my own digest of swing dance events here in the Nashville/Huntsville area. As the only one working on it at this point, it’ll mostly likely be heavily biased towards my tastes and experience, east coast, lindy, and charleston, but I will try to include any blues or balboa events I come across. I am by no means an expert of swing dancing, but I’m hoping that by compiling a list of upcoming dances and publishing it monthly (or possibly bi-weekly), I might be able to help anyone who might find themselves in the same place that I am. If anyone reads this and has a suggestion, please let me know. I want this to be as helpful as possible for as many people as possible. I might try to get the first issue written tonight and stick to a Monday posting schedule.

Don’t stop the lindy hop.

2 thoughts on “Where’s the Lindy At?

  1. Hey Justin! I had no idea you had a blog!

    Your observations about organization/information dissemination in the area are spot-on. I can shed a little light on the reasons for that, at least in Nashville, if you’d like.

    NSDF is a young organization, only about 3 years old, and in the past couple of months has undergone a foundation-shaking change in the makeup of its key members. These members are trying hard to re-establish NSDF as a leader in Nashville swing dancing and connect with the community, but are not always aware of the best way to do that, nor are they set up to take help from everyone who offers. I, for example, am not exactly a fan of the NSDF website as it stands now, because I don’t think it’s clear or informative at all. However, I’m also not on the board of the organization, so my ideas for the website are not necessarily going to be heard or accepted.

    By contrast, HSDS is a pretty old organization, about 10 years old if I remember correctly. It’s undergone a couple changes in its key members, and fairly recently (the past 2 or 3 years) has been working hard to stay current with the national lindy hop scene and all that entails. The difference is that they have a large group of people-as-resources to turn to for all that they need, whether it’s for coding, non-profit management, or even just regular ol’ manpower to sit the desk and clean up after events. They’ve also had an influx of regulars who are quite familiar with regular operations of lindy events and that sort of thing, so they have additional resources in those people. That’s probably why they seem to come off as a more organized, more informative group.

    I think Murfreesboro (and MTSU Swing Club in particular) could use a great resource to compile information and possibly organize more events. If you’re willing to do that, that would be great! Seek support from your M’boro and Nashville friends, and be aware that it will be a lot of work, definitely from the start, though it will probably get lots easier as you become more familiar with things. More power to you for taking things into your own hands :)

  2. Thanks Breanna! The encouragement is definitely appreciated. I’m thinking I might try to get some rough working format put together soon and maybe get it finished enough to publish a calendar by the end of the month. We’ll see how winter break treats me…

Leave a Reply

