… That Was Unexpected

This summer has been crazy ridiculous, the last two weeks have been no exception. You see, I’ve been looking to change jobs (lifeguarding is great, but the pay kinda sucks), or at least get a second job. I keep being referred to waiting tables. Everyone has been telling me for quite a while that they think I’d be a natural, and that I would probably make very good money in a restaurant. To make a long story short, I applied to a couple places in the Murfreesboro area and a week later, I ended up with a job at Carrabba’s Italian Grill. It’s been quite the surprise, I mean, I kinda applied there on a whim and I have no serving experience at all.

I found out on Saturday that I for sure had the job. Then I went out to Centennial Park with Alyssa to dance to the sounds of The Moonlighters. Unfortunately, during a freak polka accident, I rolled and sprained my ankle. That meant a week off work at my other job and hobbling around on crutches for a few days, plus the cost of going to the doctor to make sure that it wasn’t broken. Add that to trying to help Alyssa find herself another job, studying for my menu test, finding clothes that fit me for my new work uniform. It’s been a crazy couple of weeks.

I definitely couldn’t have done it without Alyssa though. She’s been keeping me off my feet as much as possible, driving me around, and helping me study for my test all week. And now she’s preparing herself for a week of me being mostly unavailable. She is such a blessing to me.

I have so much more to write, but I have to go find some pants that fit and study for my menu test before training today. I start at three o’clock today, my menu test is tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

